Placement Testing (Accuplacer)

NVCC uses the Accuplacer computerized, adaptive placement test to assess your basic skills in English, reading and mathematics. The test results are used by advisors to make decisions about the level of courses you are prepared to take.

Prior to signing up for the test, you must:

  • apply to the College Admissions Office
  • pay a $20 application fee
  • receive a Student ID number.   

Schedule a test.

Prepare for the test.

Download the Accuplacer brochure.

Before you can take the test

  • Complete and submit an application for admission to the Admissions Office.
  • Get your Student/Banner/Net ID from the Admissions Office - this is your student ID number and it is required to take the test.
  • Returning or transfer students should check with their advisor about whether or not to take (or retake) one or more parts of the placement test. 

Schedule your test at a campus near you:

*WALK-IN Testing

Students will be tested on a first-come, first-served basis. Prior to taking the test, a completed application must be submitted to the Admissions Office.

Inclement weather & cancellations

If there is inclement weather or hazardous driving conditions, call the Testing Center at 203-575-8215 for an update as to whether or not your appointment has been cancelled. Our voicemail will be updated as often as necessary to reflect college openings and closings.

Placement Test Preparation

There are a number of resources to help you review in reading, grammar, arithmetic and algebra before taking the placement test. 

Khan Accuplacer Arithmetic Review

KhanAcademy.org

CollegeBoard

Math.com

Test Prep Review

Purplemath

AAAMath.com

Algebrahelp.com

Guide to Grammar and Writing

TeachersChoice.com

StudyGuideZone.com

YourTeacher.com (video)

 

Waterbury Campus

FOR WATERBURY CAMPUS CLICK ON THE BOOK NOW BUTTON BELOW:

Book now

Danbury Campus

FOR DANBURY CAMPUS

Select a date below and then call 203-797-9361 to schedule your test appointment.  Test sessions are held in PC1 computer lab.   

DAY DATE TIME
Thursday
June 25
*Walk-in begins at 9 a.m.; arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.
Friday June 26
11:30 a.m.
Monday June 29
11:30 a.m.
Tuesday June 30
5:30 p.m.
Monday July 6
11:30 a.m.
Tuesday July 7
5:30 p.m.
Friday July 10
*Walk-in begins at 9 a.m.; arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.
Monday July 13
11:30 a.m.
Tuesday July 14
5:30 p.m.
Friday July 17
11:30 a.m.
Monday July 20
*Walk-in begins at 9 a.m.; arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday July 21
5:30 p.m.
Friday July 24
11:30 a.m.
Tuesday July 28
5:30 p.m.
Wednesday July 29
*Walk-in begins at 9 a.m.; arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.
Friday July 31
*Walk-in begins at 9 a.m.; arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.